Marathi Alphabets

Like in English language, Marathi language also has alphabets they are categorized as Vowels (स्वर) and Consonants (व्यंजने). Marathi consists of 48 Alphabets. In present time Marathi language is write and type in "Balbodh Devanagari" script nowdays, in the past "Kadamba script" was used for Marathi typing.

Vowels in Marathi Script

Vowel is a speech sound produced by humans when the breath flows out through the mouth without being blocked by the teeth, tongue, or lips. There are 12 letters in Marathi Vowels. Vowels are called "Svara" (स्वर) in Marathi.

12 vowels in Marathi – अ, आ, इ, ई, उ, ऊ, ए, ऐ, ओ, औ, अं (Anusvara), अ: (Visarg)

Note: Marathi language has got two new vowels and due to the use of English language. Now Marathi Vowels are 14 instead of 12.


Consonants in Marathi Script

Consonants are pronounced by stopping the air from flowing easily through the mouth, especially by closing the lips or touching the teeth with the tongue. Consonant are known as "Vaynjane" (व्यंजने) in Marathi. Marathi Consonants consist of 36 letters given below

36 Consonants in Marathi – क, ख, ग, घ, ङ, च, छ, ज, झ, ञ, ट, ठ, ड, ढ, ण, त, थ, द, ध, न, प, फ, ब, भ, म , य, र, ल, व, श, ष, स, ह, ळ, क्ष, ज्ञ

Numerals in Marathi Script

A symbol that represents a number is known as Numeral. Marathi language have there own numerals symbol listed below

Marathi Numerals      ०  १  २  ३  ४  ५  ६  ७  ८  ९
English Equivlent       0 1  2  3  4  5   6  7  8  9

Marathi Alphabet


History of Marathi Language

1. Marathi is thought to be a descendent of Maharashtri, one of the Prakrit languages which developed from Sanskrit in about the 3rd century BC.

2. A stone inscription found in a cave at Naneghat, Junnar in Pune district had been written in Maharashtri using Brahmi script dated 3rd centure BC.

3. Marathi was a standard written language by the 12th century.

4. Historically the Kadamba script and its variants have been used to write Marathi.

5. Marathi is usually written in the Balbodh version of Devanagari script.

6. The first Marathi newspaper appeared in 1835 and the first English book was translated into Marathi in 1817.

7. Marathi Language Day is celebrated on 27 February every year.

8. Shrilipee, Shivaji, Kiran fonts etc. are clip fonts that were used for Marathi typing prior to the introduction of Unicode font for Marathi Devanagari script.